2014-2015 SCAN Awards Criteria

Each year SCAN recognizes the outstanding practice and significant contributions its members make toward promotion of SCANs work as an organization and in the practice areas represented by SCAN.



The three awards and their nomination and disqualifying criteria are:

1. **SCAN Achievement Award:** This award recognizes a practitioner who has left a legacy to SCAN and the profession through both a history of leadership within SCAN and through outstanding service to the profession.

Criteria for Nomination and Review

- a. Member of SCAN for 10 or more years
- Significant history of outstanding service to SCAN in various leadership roles, such as SCAN's
 Executive Committee, Symposium Director/Assistant Director, Subunit leadership and
 involvement, major publications (Pulse, Well/CV newsletter, SCORE, The Beat), etc
- Professional accomplishments in the field of sports or cardiovascular nutrition, wellness and/or disordered eating/eating disorders as exemplified through teaching or professional training, clinical experience, public speaking, research, publications, nutrition education for the public, etc

Other forms of service and professional accomplishment that may be considered

- a. Participation in Academy and/or other professional organizations at the national, state, and/or local levels
- b. Community Service/Volunteerism at the national, state, and local levels
- c. Formal and/or informal mentoring of peers and young leaders
- d. Collegiality
- 2. **SCAN Excellence in Practice Award:** This award recognizes the outstanding practice of a SCAN member in one of the four dietetic practice areas (cardiovascular, wellness/health promotion, disordered eating, or sports). A member may receive the award for efforts as an individual, part of a group, or part of an organization. Practice may include clinical, public health, consulting/corporate, program development, research, publication, education, or volunteer.

Criteria for Nomination and Review

- a. Member of SCAN for 3 plus years
- b. Visibility of practice in at least one of SCAN's practice areas
- c. Professional accomplishments demonstrated to advance and impact the profession
- d. Outstanding leadership/service to SCAN, (e.g., subunit, symposium, publications and committee leadership

3. SCAN Student Award: This award recognizes a student member who has unmistakable commitment to at least one of SCAN's practice areas (nutrition for cardiovascular disease, wellness and weight management, disordered eating and eating disorders, or sports and physical performance), as evidenced by outstanding contribution to SCAN, extraordinary community service, and academic excellence. The award will be presented annually at the SCAN Symposium, unless no candidate is nominated or meets the award criteria in a given year.

Criteria for Nomination and Review

- a. A current member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics for at least 1 year
- b. A student member of SCAN for at least 1 year (must be a current student member of SCAN at the time of nomination)
- c. A current student (Bachelor, Master, or Doctoral candidate, or Dietetic Intern) at the time of nomination

Disqualifying Criteria for any of these three SCAN Awards

- a. Currently serving on the SCAN Executive Committee
- b. Having already received the award
- c. Incomplete award application

Previous Award Recipients:

SCAN Excellence in Practice Award	SCAN Achievement Award		SCAN Student Award
1997 -Mary Dodds-Spoon	1985-Merle Best	2000 -Karen Ross	2013 – Sara Shipley
1998 – Denise Ferko-Adams	1986-Jean Storlie	2001 -Ruth Carey	2014 – Lauren Kort
1999 – Karin Kratina	1987-Marilyn Schorin	2002 -Julie Burns	
2000 – Not awarded	1988 -Jackie Berning	2003 -Rita Johnson	
2001 – Melinda Manore	1989 -Penny Kris-	2004 -Marty Yadrick	
2002 – Sondra Kronberg	Etherton	2005 -Karen Dolins	
2003 – Susan Kundrat	1990 -Georgia Kostas	2006 -Marie Dunford	
2004 – Brenda Davy	1991 -Nema Frye	2007 -Michele Macedonio	
2005 – Marilyn Holms	1992 -Nancy Clark	2008 -Chris Rosenbloom	
2006 – Nancy King	1993 -Dan Benardot	2009 -Patti Steinmuller &	
2007 – Karen Balnicki	1994 -Ellen Coleman	Nancy DiMarco	
Wetherall	1995 -Kristine Clark	2010 -Ingrid Skoog	
2008 – Nancy Clark	1996 -Lori Valencic	2011 -Roberta Anding	
2009 – Lisa Carlson;	1997 -Linda Zorn	2012-N/A	
2010 – Reba Sloan	1998 -Nicki Zeidner	2013- Christina Scribner	
2011 – Karen Daigle	1999- Lynn Umbreit	2014 – D. Enette Larson-	
2012 – Karen Collins, Alisa		Meyer	
Krizan, Nanna Meyer, Ellen			
Stellefson Myers			
2013 - Satya Jonnalagadda			
2014 – Tara Coghlin Dickson			